Pretty Natural


when life gives you lemons

The seat belt in my car is stuck. This means it needs to be fixed. This means my parents will be driving me to my very first grown up job. This makes me feel like a child.

My parents are driving through three states and back just for me. This makes me feel worse. I know I’ll forget all about this in a few weeks and not care, but I’d like to look forward to this next chapter instead of grumbling and moping. Life, it would seem, has given me lemons. So I’ll use them as I prepare to leave, because I’ll want to be fresh faced for my new job.

Now you know all about my day. But what you don’t know is this: those vitamin C  products at the store? Don’t waste your time. Vitamin C is only really valuable in dry form – OR straight from its natural source. So this won’t help you. (The Body Shop does great things for the community, though, so it WILL help others if you buy it.) Lemons are cheap and they have so many different beneficial uses.

Face

Easy peasy bath: Adding 1/2 cup to a warm bath means detoxed skin all over. Vitamin C is rejuvenating and it cleanses exceptionally well. DO NOT use this remedy if you’re a fan of the self-tan. It will turn you orange.

Hair

Lemon squeezy lightener: Ever lightened your hair with Sun In ? Stop paying for it. Add 1 part lemon juice and 1 part water in a spray bottle. Spray in and use the heat from the sun or a hair dryer to get some summer highlights.

Face

Lemon lightening:  I have too many tips to include here, so check out my wikispace for more links. One really easy tip is to rub a slice of lemon wherever you have blackheads once a day before bed. The lemon juice bleaches them (they’re just a process of bacteria and oxidation so make it invisible!).

Cleansing scrub: A little squeeze of  a lemon and a little bit of sugar and you’re ready to get rid of the day’s grime.

Remember to put a little lemon in your water everyday for clean, fresh breath and a healthy liver.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] powerful ally to your skin. Consider its long list of skin- strengthening ingredients (Vitamins A, C, E and iron, to name a few) and think about what those things can do for your skin. Vitamins A and […]

Pingback by avocado ally « Pretty Natural




Leave a Reply

