Pretty Natural


food break
August 4, 2010, 19:48
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

I am an ESL instructor this summer so it’s my job to bridge culture gaps, correct grammar, and encourage good attitudes. Today was just another day like that. During my one-on-one with a Japanese scholar who has been struggling with his English, we discussed cultural differences (a personal favorite topic) and I asked him: what is one thing you would change about your culture?

My own answer came to me very quickly. If I could change one thing about American culture, it would be the way we view FOOD (definitely check out this link – it’s incredible!).

Why food? Think about it. We gulp down our food at lunch and supper time, often running around while eating and not paying attention to what we’re putting into our bodies.

We sometimes eat just for the fun of it – not because we’re hungry, just because we can.

We eat processed foods, but our country is so wealthy that, in some places, we have farms just around the corner (especially here in New England).

I ate a traditional Chinese meal with my students a few weeks ago and had the opportunity of trying tons of new foods. One student introduced a vegetable saying “this tastes really bad but it’s very good for you, it cools your body down which is good because it’s hot today“. Most Americans can’t imagine eating something that tastes awful even if it benefits their health.

I am in no way perfect when it comes to food and health. But I have long been interested in eating more of the good and less of the bad. America’s getting better at food, too; we’re all about organic choices, we are beginning to buy locally and some are even starting their own gardens.

Maybe today you can start to make little changes, too. Rethink how and what you eat today… and tomorrow, too.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ve got it! I’ll go to a foreign country for a couple weeks and get my food choices straight!

Comment by Jakob Guy

Safe travels! I hope you have a great time!

Comment by prittynachrel




Leave a Reply

