Pretty Natural


Clean hands during lobster season
June 25, 2011, 12:52
Filed under: Uncategorized

Oddly enough, becoming a waitress has always been on my bucket list. No one believes me when I tell them this. I love making people feel comfortable and bringing them what they need and want. I generally don’t like interacting with people but I make the perfect hostess. I know – I don’t make any sense.

Finally this summer I’m a waitress! I work at one of the most gorgeous lodge/resorts in Maine and it’s the most fun I’ve had in a while. But I’m also learning to adapt to smelling like the kitchen when I get back from each shift. Most irritating of all is the lobster smell -especially when it’s under your nails. If you’re on the eating end of the lobster plate, here are some tips to walking away smelling fresh.

Tip number one: I don’t advise getting lobster during a date. It’s right up there with any pasta and red sauce. Use your head.

Tip number two: Order a glass of water with two lemons with your meal. Pluck the lemons out right away and set them on the side. Once you’ve finished your lobster and used the wet towelette, dig your nails into the lemon slices. The lemon both cleanses and neutralizes the smell and nails are the hardest place to clean lobster guts from. ¬†

Tip number three: If you’re brave enough to order something strange from the kitchen, ask for some vinegar and a few slices of lemon. Squeeze some lemon juice into the vinegar and dip your napkin in it to make your own towelette. I know few people would want to do it, but it’s common to get odd requests like this.

 

Enjoy your lobster and all the summer seafood!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

